Happy Thanksgiving…

Well, I don’t know about you but I’ve already started cooking for tomorrow! I have the kids help me, each is in charge of a dish. Why?

 Well, to prevent what happened to me the first time I had to prepare a holiday dinner by myself. You see, all of my elders had been the cooks (and man they were good cooks too!) but we were shushed out of the kitchen and didn’t learn, that was the province of new brides etc.

Well, I was a modern day new bride (who could cook) but half a world away from anyone who could show me how to make the dishes. I did spend good money on phone calls to my grandmother and great aunty to get the recipes, and once I woke my mother up at 2am to get her recipe for deviled eggs.( I was 11hrs ahead of her and forgot the time difference!)

So, to avoid this, I teach them my signature dishes, the one’s they like best, and then each year a new “old” dish, so that they won’t be waking me up at 2am someday to get my recipes!

I treat it like I do crochet, it’s their legacy, their heritage. These are the important things in life, these are the things that make it all worth while. Cozy moment, and silly times, more important than the stress and the rush…

I hope you enjoy your holiday in the USA, and those of you who are not in the USA or from the USA, well Happy Thanksgiving to you too. I am very thankful that you read my blog, it gives me great encouragement, and spurs me on to even more creative endeavors!

Thank you all, and Blessings on you and yours.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, CMHS Yarns & Designs, competition, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Indie Artist, Laurie Wheeler. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment