For Lydia


For Lydia

Originally uploaded by CMHS yarn & designs (laurie wheeler).

It’s wonderful to be an aunty, especially to younger children! In my case I am the aunty to teens and little ones. My neice, Lydia, is turning seven th is month, and I thought about buying her some toys to mail to her, but really she has so many toys, and I don’t see her very often. I wanted her present to be special.

Then I remembered that when I was her age, one of my favorite aunties made me a whole wardrobe of fashion doll clothes. And even though I hated playing with dolls, I loved the clothes. Well, since I think my neice is a doll! I’m making her a cute little “granny” poncho out of Sirdar Snuggly Bubbly. I’m going to make a little one out of matching yarn and don a little doll so that she and a doll can match!

I hope she’ll like it! I know i’m having fun making it, and I just know she’ll be cute as a bug’s ear in this poncho! (and I can hear Lydia tell me now, “Um, Aunty Laurie, excuse me, but bugs don’t have ears.”)

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Indie Artist, Laurie Wheeler, stash, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

