Broomstick Lace Capelet

I know, I know. I have been SOOOOOOOOOO bad about posting on this blog! But never fear, I have moved my CLF blog over to wordpress, and now I will NOT forget to blog my crochet and yarn exploits here at the Secrets of Yarn!

Here, I get to just be Laurie Wheeler and you know that’s awfully cozy.

Anyway, this cute little number is something I whipped up right after the CGOA regional in Portland, Oregon. After taking Stitch Diva, Jennifer Hansen’s Broomstick Lace class, I have to admit I have become somewhat addicted.

My little neice, Gwen, lit up like a Christmas tree and wanted to try this baby on before I even managed to walk into her house!

I used two yarns, a ribbon yarn and a sock yarn to make this. I have to say that was a wee bit ambitious, and got a wee bit annoying at a few places. The lace isn’t 100% even, but you know what? Princess loves it, so I’m happy about it. I learned something new, and now I’m gonna make me a brookstick lace skirt.

I had started out with that intention last week, but ended up doing something else (using the same kind of ruffly idea) for my daughter. Now I have to finish that project (yes, I will display here when finished), and THEN I will make the broomstick lace skirt!

Oh and an end note: If you want to see some cool crochet videos check out these links!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in CGOA, Cool Stuff, crafts, Elegant Crochet, Fashion, fiber art, Funky Fashion, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Needle Arts, The Knit and Crochet Show, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broomstick Lace Capelet

  1. Sarah says:

    Wow, that is an awesome capelet. I love the color and the frill! I will have to try it out! Sarah

    • camanomade says:

      Thank you 🙂 I do not suggest using two yarns to do it though, I would pick one bright or frilly colored worsted weight. It was really a challenge to do the lace with two strands, especially since I increase rows in the broomstick lace and it just got a little unwieldy!

Leave a Reply

