A rare rebuttal ~ Crochet Ribbing.

rib-swatch1Today, I was checking my blog stats and saw that a “yahoo answers” page had linked the Crochet Ribbing Redux page here on the blog.

Some one had asked how to do a crochet ribbing. Unfortunately they stated they knew how you did one in knit, and so all the knitters came out with authority stating how you actually knit a  ribbing (which um…they all sounded like different kinds of ribbing to me but hey I don’t knit, so you know I won’t give that kind of advice)…

REFER TO PARENTHESIS above!  IF you do not crochet other than dishcloths, or granny squares, or jackets, or blankies or toys because you prefer your garments knit, please stop giving advice. Just stop. PLEASE. For the love of all that is hookable STOP you are perpetuating myths, and misinformation and you do NOT and I repeat DO NOT know what you are talking about…SIGH….And of course there will be those of you reading this thinking, “Is she talking about me? I mean I crochet a lot…” Then NO I do not mean you, and the folks that I do mean, won’t get it cause they won’t think this post could POSSIBLY be about them.

SO here’s what this person wrote:

In crochet, you need to do something similar in causing the stitch to appear to be reversed in a column and not in others. Here is a site that explains it, but it seems to be making garter stitch:
https://camanomade.wordpress.com/how-to-m…
I think you would need to alternate front and back crochet stitches to get the ribbing appearance.

 

OK I ask you to RE-READ my directions. THAT IS EXACTLY what you are doing in working the ribbing as PER my instructions. You do not WORK in columns, you do not work horizontially…YOU ARE WORKING VERTICALLY and it gives you a nice a VERY nice tight and STRETCHY ribbing.

You can do it with sc, you can do it hdc, and you can do it with dc,  I prefer HDC….

I’ve added a photo, to show how the stitches look in hdc, and in dc with an alternate row of sc, all worked in the back loops only.

I don’t usually make garments using this size of yarn, I prefer a finer weight if I’m doing things like ribbing…but this was the best way to show the stitch definitions. If I used Cascade 220 to make a sweater, I would go down a size or two in yarn to make the ribbing.

Obviously when you work a vertical ribbing in crochet, you do the ribbing first, then crochet from the bottom of the sleeves (cuffs) up.

 

Oh and here’s the other clue…I don’t care if it looks like a rib stitch or a garter stitch in knit, because I DON’T KNIT! I CROCHET! I am feeling like a frustrated Kermit the Frog! ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

It is polished, it works, and when I wear a garment noone can tell the difference anyway, because it just happens to look so good people just say, “Ooooh that’s so pretty! I didn’t know you could CROCHET ribbing!” Or Cables…Or Entreloc or any of the other goodies…cause I can and do.

/rant

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A rare rebuttal ~ Crochet Ribbing.

  1. Marjorie says:

    Hi Laurie, I got a little confused with your rebuttal. If I understand correctly, a crocheted ribbing is worked in columns (columns being vertical). Rows are horizontal. Right? I always have to stop and think, so I may be confused. Anyway, I just did my first crocheted ribbing using a Robin Chachula pattern as a guide. It took me a long time to conceptualize it but I think I got it right (except I screwed up and crocheted flo not blo). Anyho, my project was a shrug/bolero and I did the ribbing afterwards. I’m also a knitter and I have to say that crocheting a ribbing (assuming I did it in the realm of right) is a lot easier than the knitting approach of “picking up and knitting” all around the collar.

    Anyway, thanks for taking the time to explain and educate. Some people just don’t get it. Some people are scared of the hook — too much freedom.

  2. Marjorie says:

    oh, maybe I should mention I’m MissMookus on ravelry.

  3. Laurie says:

    Hi Marjorie 🙂

    Thank you 😉 There are many ways to do a crocheted ribbing. This is the way I use it most often. I prefer to do my sleeves from the cuff upwards. Other folks do it the opposite way.

    You understand the column/vertical issue just fine 😉 It’s the nature of the beast really, it’s the difference between crochet/knit and which direction you have the stretch. Crochet stretches just as much as knit does…but when you work in horizontal rows in crochet the stretch is from side to side, and in knit the stretch is from up/down. To change this in crochet we work on the vertical to get the same kind of stretch of a knitted garment.

    For stick impaired folk like myself it’s the easiest and fastest way to get the feel, texture, stretch for the garment I am working on 😉

  4. Betty Ladner-Du Cre' says:

    That’s a pretty swatch, I’ve never tried it with alternating between sc. and Dc.
    I will with my next set of fingerless gloves I’m doing later today.
    Thank you for the sample and the idea.

    Sincerely
    Du Cre’s Crochets

Leave a Reply

