Crochet, Library, and so on…

I have been a busy little beaver crocheting for the new CLF Book, and trying to save my local library. The library is only a “pilot project” until June of 2010. Our friends group, Camano Island Library Friends is currently working on local fundraising efforts to earn the first year’s lease money, to keep the library on the island.

I think it’s entirely feasable to earn the amount, and while we wait for our 501c3 to be finalized we are running two fundraisers.

1) Save Our Library Penny Drive ~ This is something even our youngest patrons can do!Β  We have box templates that can be used to collect pennies, or people can use what ever recepticle that comes to hand; bring in their pennies to the library and get a crocheted curly, wurly, googly eyed bookworm. (One toddler patron is busy collecting a worm family πŸ™‚ )

2) Build a Bookworm is for our big spenders! For a $1 donation you get your name on a book worm “segment” that will be attached to the ceiling…We want to see how big our book worm grows.

These are on going fundraisers with no end date. We have generous donations of bookworms, and I can easily print off more segments for the ceiling dwelling book worm πŸ™‚

So, crochet will indeed help save our library!

Why do I care so much? Well, besides having been a life long patrons of libraries and the fact that I think they are a very important public service; I am currently using the library as my office because I live with dial up at home. There is nothing I can do to change my dial up situation, but I can help save the library. I have no problem donating money to the library, because if I could get DSL I would be paying for that! I’d rather work from home, but I’m grateful I have the Camano Island Library. And, it’s kind of nice to be able to take my kids to work and they have something to do! I’ve also met many people I never would have met on the island otherwise! People who love books, and computing as much as me! YEAH!

Ah yeah, the crochet…Well, I was going to write a negligee pattern, but I decided instead to write a how to make your own. Different entirely, more about how to measure, where to measure, and how to create a simple design of your own. I am currently bribing the daughter with more internet time and cookies to do some graphics for me πŸ˜‰

I really like how a chinese collar top turned out πŸ™‚ It was supposed to be a nighty but I decreased to early, and since I’m working with a mohair/silk blend there was no ripping back. That’s what gave me the idea for the article πŸ™‚ It’s still a sexy top, and oooh does it feel nice on. I had my hubby check the fitting…OH That was funny!

I changed into the top in the bedroom, yelled at the kids to close their eyes or be scarred for life, and then ran into the kitchen where Jeff was cooking dinner, “How’s it look?” I asked…

Once his eyeballs returned to their sockets, he said in a chipper voice, “Wow that looks really nice!”

I turned around, “Even the back”

“Hmmm. Yeah…it’s good.”

So I ran back down the hallway, shouting the all clear to the kids (so they could open their eyes again)…changed out ofΒ  the garment, and went to finish it up in the living room.

Jeff was sitting on the couch at that point, “You know you should probably run a strap down the back, it’s just a little too loose…” Then he paused thoughtfully, “Was that a real man statement? Or am I losing it?”

I laughed so hard, “Dear, I think a real man knows what is sexy πŸ™‚ ”

Ah my poor macho man!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Camano Island, CLF, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

