A note or three about substituting yarns in patterns…

So I was on Ravelry.com the other day, yeah I know how unusual right? Don’t I live there? Anywho….

I was on Ravelry.com looking through my projects, and saw that my Looks Knit Great Fit pattern had two other projects besides mine up, and photos, and that they were frogged…I thought hmmmm…why frogged?

So I looked at the yarn content the folks chose. Ah, not washable wool…cotton? Silk? Tofu? hmmmm…well that just won’t work for that pattern.

In future I am half tempted to list what you should and shouldn’t substitute for my patterns. It’s not really the crafters fault, since that knowledge seems to be arcane at best…and yes, yes, yes I am still working on the book, I have photos and some charts to finish, and I will get it done…

I’ve gathered a few more ideas in the past few months that need to be put onto paper…and I think it will be a humdinger of a resource that will end up saving people time, money, and trouble in the long run.

Folks, the only thing I would substitute for washable wool is a nice springy baby yarn for sock yarn. Cotton and other plant fibers just don’t behave right…I would use completely different stitch patterns and construction using those fibers in a sock or other garment.

Remember, understanding what fibers do can make or break a project…A reminder that I do have a handy dandy guide for download over at Lulu.com and it’s got the basics covered, and frankly makes a great addition to any project notebook!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in CMHS Yarns & Designs, crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

