Alternative yarn….

So, here I’m going through what my friend and I lovingly called the “Feed Store” which is actually called the “Country Store” (of Skagit Valley Farmers Supply Coop)….cause they always have cool gifts and interesting items for the hard to buy for…and what do I spy….The BIGGEST, BADDEST spool of binding twine I have ever spied in my life….and I think to myself, “Self that is some kind of bag waiting to be made…self that is an awe inspiring amount of twine…self you know you must have that twine…”

So, I buy the biggest, baddest spool of twine in the world, a lovely hairy twisted jute affair, with designs on making a shopping bag out of it…and well, after soaking said twine a bit at a time as I worked with it (cause it’s easier to worth with that way)  I decide that maybe a WHOLE bag out of this is a bit much, but the base of a bag would be cool…now remember this is also a bulky twine, so I’m using a H hook (mostly because it’s so bulky that a hook to it’s girth would produce too large a stitch), and I made a 20 inch rounded base…It’s cool…but now that I’m working up the sides with acrylic and have already spent up one skein of 200 yds, I’m asking myself, “Mom, are we there yet?”….I should be done by the end of the week, after that I think I’ll make a few “smaller versions of the bag cause this one is um….well… just a bit more than I feel like working on with the holidays so very close….I hope I have a camera before the hols to photograph this though, because Bemoth Bag is coolness….just laborious (and I’m doing it in open work!)

Yeah, somedays I just wonder at myself….

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Handcrafts, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

