Very Sad News…

I had one of the toughest conversations of my life last night. As Superindendant of the Fleece and Handspinning dept. at the Stawood Camano Fair, this time of year I am calling up demonstrators and participants finding out how I can help them be at the fair.

The thing is, we’re a small group, a family of sorts. All of us very different from one another, all of us with our quirks, different views to life, but we all love fiber and that is enough to bond us like sisters and brothers. We over look our differences, and help each other through the trials and tribulations of life. One year it was the death of a husband, another year a divorce, we weathered illnesses, and childrearing issues together…and this year is no exception.

As I was checking with a wonderful couple who bring out a fabulous carding and drop spindling display (I should say experience! Since they work with many many kids over the three days of the fair), I played phone tag with them for a few days. When he called last night, it was with sad news…I had to listen to a man who desperately loves his wife, choke up on the phone and tell me that she had been in a horrible car accident, and has been in the Trauma Hospital’s ICU for over a week.

There are positive signs for his wife, she didn’t break her neck or spinal cord, there are body responses, but her skull is cracked horribly…she’s stil in dire straights, but hasn’t declined.

This is a wonderful couple, their love is palpable, we look forward to them coming every year (and they come from quite a distance, as they are not from our local area)…Listening to him tell me the details, his voice quavering, listening to him trying to hold it together, hearing his heart bleed with every detail was beyond the description of hard.

I’m not giving their names to protect their privacy…but I do ask you to think of this couple and think positive and healing thoughts for them, if you pray, please pray for them.

When a member of the group is down we rally together, and pull for them in a way that is beyond normal friendship…Well, we have a member down, fighting for her life right now…and one who’s heart is rending because of his love for her…We’re gonna do what we can for him, and hold her in our minds and hearts…

I put this out because I think it is important to let people know that our craft groups aren’t just little hobby clubs. We are community, we are tied together, we spend years together creating side by side…sharing our lives with others, and each other…

This year the fair will be for the couple who’s love is tangible…we’ll make sure we have things that we know they would like…

Why? Because amidst one of the hardest moments of this man’s life, he said to me, “I made a bunch of CD drop spindles for the kids, and I want to get them to you…’

“Oh you don’t have to…” I said trying not to cry.

“Laurie, I have to do something, and this is something positive…I don’t have a lot of that right now…”

I waited until I got off the phone with him before I cried. Then I called the rest of the group.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Yarn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very Sad News…

  1. Bec Thomas says:

    I hope said person has a quick recovery!

  2. Nancy says:

    Sending hubby big hugs, and wife gentle hugs and lots of prayers.

Leave a Reply

