My Mentor and Friend, Ann Hopkins




ann

Originally uploaded by CMHS yarn & designs (laurie wheeler).

This is my mentor and friend, Ann Hopkins. She is affectionately known as “Granny Annie” or even more commonly, “Art with Ann”.

For over 25 years she has taught art in many media to the youth (and their parents) of our community. I met Ann, in 2001, shortly after moving to Camano Island. I was in Stanwood for the afternoon, volunteering to read to ECAP kids. Since I was early, and had my four year old son with me, I walked with him over to the craft store.

When she spied me, she started up a conversation (something she does all the time with strangers…she’s one of those gregarious people who loves everyone!), when she said she was a spinner, I perked up. “WOW! I have always wanted to spin yarn!”
“I’ll teach you.” She said, almost a directive than an offer.

She gave me her card, and I spent a month wondering if she really meant it. Finally, I called her, and she invited Yousif (my son) and I over to her house to give me my first lesson.

She showed me many more of her art projects, jewlery, quilting, watercolors, appliques, stenciling, pen and ink, her poetry… I was in awe…”I’ve always wanted to be creative like you, I just don’t have a creative bone in my body…” I said.

She looked at me over the rims of her glasses, harrumphed, and said “We’ll see about that…” All the time giving me a wry smile…

Well, it appears I do have one or two creative bones in my body. Thanks to Ann, I now know where they are and how to use them.

I will forever be in her debt for opening my world…and to my Seventh Grade Art teacher who told me I’d never be an artist…all I have to say is, “In your face!”

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

