The Last Hurrah…

by Bec ThomasMy friend Bec Thomas (of visual perpective) took this photo of Deb (another park ranger’s wife) and I, during the Cama Beach Staff’s last hurrah, Monday June 16th. It was the last staff party with the park closed.

For me it was a bitter sweet time, as my family and I lived down there for almost three years. We arrived when my daughter was 7 and my son was 4, she is now 14 and he just turned 12 (Monday!).  As everyone talked about the park opening, I had visions of my children running up deer trails, stumbling on paths, scraping knees, climbing into holes with archaeologists, jumping up on giant dirt “mountain” and sliding down it (even when told repeatedly to stop…dirt ground into underwear THROUGH the clothes!). Visions of my daughter and son bringing me their treasures, running terrified off the beach from an errant sea lion, watching a pumpkin flung from a homemade trechuchet be taken down to Davy Jones locker, by what we assumed was a seal, but who knows…

Eagles, orcas, friendships, people who passed through our lives, people who are still there…my friend Bec’s boys were so little when we met, her oldest was my son’s “Almost seven year old” friend when we met…her youngest was a baby, he’s seven now.

So as we get ready to celebrate the opening of the park…I had to detach, to let go, of the park, it was my home once, it holds the imprints of my children’s laughter, and their tears, the garden that provided so many people with joy has changed, and will change again, and new memories for other people will imprint the park…other children’s laughter, other children’s tears…

It makes it easier to let go of our private nirvanah…knowing that come Saturday, grandparents will bring grandchildren to share their memories, and create new ones. It’s easy to want to hang on to things, because those days slip by so quickly, without us even noticing…yet, a place like Cama Beach belongs to us all…

As I stood watching the children play unfettered one last time in “our” park, I thought back to the thousands of years that we know Cama has been used by human beings…I thought of how many voices we could hear on the wind if we just but listened.

The one thing I do know from living there, is that it is magical, it is healing…and it is there for us all. I can detatch knowing that.

As for crocheting…I finally got that stitch figured out…photo coming soon 😉

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Yarn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

