Finally found the stitch…photos coming soon…

So, I’ve been in a funk. If you noticed I haven’t written much, and truth be told I have been busy, at home, with kids etc, especially with hubby working like a mad man in the time leading up to the Grand Opening of Cama Beach State Park… It’s been a long two months.

Lately the funk is lifting, which I have to say is a good thing. Cause, well…it was getting FREAKING old.

So, part of my getting out of it was playing with yarn, and trying to learn broomstick lace (no I have not mastered this yet, but no worries, I shall INDEED conquer this too)… I figured out hairpin lace tonight, not because I couldn’t before due to lack of ability, nope I finally found some looms 🙂 So all of this was helping me…

 

Now for a long time I have wanted to do a certain stitch, it’s a real trellis, which most people don’t call a trellis, but that’s the old name for it, and it looks KIND of  like hairpin lace, but it’s not hairpin lace, it’s regular crochet but you can work the loops over a ruler…that will be my newsletter’s stitch of the month when I finally use the right yarn for it…

Note to self…Don’t use handspun singles for this stitch…yes use a balanced yarn…Cause um…well I should just take a pic of my first attempt and you’ll see why…BUT it is indeed very cool…and I’ve wanted to do this for five years now, but couldn’t find the directions anywhere…

My dear friend Ann, yes that Ann, the one who got me spinning, and needle felting, yeah that woman…she lent me her old reader’s digest Needlework book…and well…I’m in hog heaven…Published before a bunch of nimrods decided there were things you could and couldn’t do with crochet.

Photos coming soon….

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

