Slippers for Warmer Climates!

Over the past six months I have been thinking of my poor crochet compatriots who live in warmer climates, who have to deal with the plethora of patterns made with fibers unsuited to their lives. I used to live in the Middle East, and I remember drooling over patterns of sweaters, scarves and hats and wanting to make them, and having no practical applications for them.

I could use slippers though, because a) we didn’t wear shoes inside, and b) the airconditioning got chilly. I like having cozy toes and do not like going barefoot (it’s not a self conscious thing, I like my feet really, I just hate having cold toes).

I started a topic on our CLF HQ Group message board on Ravelry to see if people were interested in slipper patterns and it appears folks are indeed looking for new  and ATTRACTIVE (go figure that) slipper patterns.

I have this slipper I make for young and old alike that is a “princess slipper”, I chose to make it out of one of my favorite yarns, Phildar Phil Eponge. This will work for those in warmer climates, and if you use a wool sock yarn it will work for cooler climates as well. It can serve as a “footie” as well.

As you can see from the photo it’s done in two colors, it doesn’t have to be, that was for taking photos of the joining process, which can be difficult for someone the first time they are piecing any project together.

I made the first slipper last night, and could have finished the second, but I want my daughter to take photos of me joining the top and bottom together tomorrow evening after she’s back from class. These future photos will be part of the pattern.

I’ll let you know when I get it up on Lulu.

This pattern will fit a size 6 wide to 8 narrow, however as with my sock patterns I’ve included instructions on how to size up or down, and what to do for yarn substitutions.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

