Spring, Spinning Group, CLF and more

Spring looms so very close! I think it is my very favorite season. I get to inspect my garden now, watching the promise of this favorite of seasons…Leaf buds ready to burst forth into glorious shades of green. Narcissus blooming happy little yellow flowers. There’s one very motivated French Lavendar that has decided to bloom early, and my roses are leafing out (ever the harbinger of a late frost).

With spring my urge to spin yarn deepens, and I make hurried last minute crochet projects. Once my urge to spin sets in the crochet hooks get set aside for a wee bit. I have a lot of yarn to spin because I “have to”, but this time of year spinning becomes a natural urge, a must if you will!

Yesturday our fiber art group (also known as our spinning group) met yet again, and there were only a few of us, and only I brought my wheel. We had naalbinding, knitting, crochet, and drop spindling  and that constant chatter of life to keep our hands and minds busy. A concert of female bonding. Not that male bonding couldn’t occur, we were just short that gender THIS meeting.

All are welcome to attend the fiber arts group that meets in Stanwood, WA. We meet at the Lighthouse Christian Fellowship, just off Pioneer HWY. Please contact me if you wish to attend, I’ll give you quick and easy directions.

Spring also brings with it the beginnings of the Crochet Liberation Front First Ever Book! Submissions for publication begin this Monday (St. Patrick’s Day) and run through May 5th. If you are a member of our Ravelry group, check out the locked and sticked thread for submission guidelines! If you aren’t! Join Ravelry, and join our group and you will be eligible to submit. You don’t have to write patterns, you can submit stories, hints/tips, ideas and more! Just join, we’re all in this together and it’s going to be a wonderful endeavor.

Right now I’m working on fixing the website again, I’m having troubles getting a few things done, hopefully my time will free up this week to get to the bandwidth needed to load photos, and finish the CLF Chain Gang information!

I’ll be working on getting more up on the CLF Blog as well! Never ending projects, which is good, since I hate to be idle. I love to work and be busy, and creative! I think what I love even more is helping others create as well!  Which leads to the CLF Yarn Club (Free Form Crochet Club) Newsletter…I’m working on that…it too will be out this week 😉

I was put back a bit by the old shoulders, yet they are on the mend and I’m getting back to task.

And Spring is coming…I can’t wait! I love the cacophony of colors and birdsong, Spring is indeed my favorite season.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Camano Island, CLF, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Crochet Groups, Crochet Liberation Front, fiber art, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Indie Artist, Laurie Wheeler, ravelry, Spinning, Stanwood, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

