Shoulders, spinning, business and more…

Well, getting older stinks. You know when you are in your twenties and all the older people say things like, “You really shouldn’t carry such heavy things,” or” carry that carryon that way,” or” both your kids on each hip….” You roll your eyes and keep doing it, and then sometime in your late thirties or early forties some part of your body goes “twang” or “crunch” or worse make no noise but hurts like hell…

 Folks, I have now dislocated my right shoulder three times in 12 months. How? Working out of short raw sheeps fleeces. It doesn’t happen when I am plying and repurposing, it doesn’t happen when I spin roving or mohair, or a nice romney. It does happen when I use the short draw technique and it’s a sticky, short fiber.

 So, I have concluded that spinning is going to be done in rovings, because washing fleeces hurts me too…I just can’t physically do what I have been doing for seven years. It stinks, because I love doing it, well I did love doing it, but when it hurts to high heavens it’s time to stop.

I’m still going to sell the Scrumblini’s and my designer yarns, things will just be done differently. 

I’m also gearing up to accept submissions for the CLF book, and I’ll be reworking the CLF Chaingang club…I think I’ve found some better ways to do it…stay tuned for more information on that…

Ooooh and on a real positive note, I’m just now filling out the form that will make me a vendor at The Knit and Crochet Show in Portland, Oregon this September. Come on down and visit with me at the Oregon Convention Center September 11-14!!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet Groups, Crochet Liberation Front, fiber art, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Laurie Wheeler. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shoulders, spinning, business and more…

  1. laracroft says:

    Man I hate that. I used to be an avid gardener: the same back injury that forced me to take up crocheting sadly put an end to my gardening days. It sucks.

  2. camanomade says:

    Pout! I love gardening too…and I didn’t do much of it last year because of the shoulder…But this year I’m raising all the beds so no bending etc…Sorry you can’t garden…but you can always crochet food:)

Leave a Reply

