Stitch Stirrers Prompt: Crochet Favorites…

Ah back to Stitch Stirring! I have been remiss, for that I deeply and humbly apologise. My excuse? Well, it’s not an excuse really, I just haven’t had time.

SO without further ado… What is (are) my favorite thing(s) about Crochet…

  1. I am very tactile, so I love using all of the yarns. I don’t just love how the fiber feels, I adore it. I love the way fibers blend together for different effects.
  2. The three-d potentials. I am very much a frustrated sculptor, so I love all of the potentials that crochet has to offer me. Not that I sculpt with it in a three dimensional way, I just don’t. But, I love how it feels like I am sculpting with the yarn as I make every day objects, or clothing.
  3. I really love the way the feels as it slides through my hands and through the hook. I mean that’s just awesome. I don’t know how else to describe it.
  4. I like that it is quick. I can do relatively large projects in a short amount of time. I made a pair of felted slippers between yesturday and today. AND started a second pair. I like being able to crochet for a week and have a sweater. Or work up several hats in a night. The same goes with scarves.
  5. Lastly, I love the connection it has made for my daughter and I. During those awful pre-teen years when we were at each other’s throats, crochet really was a common ground. We don’t fight when we are crocheting…and now that most of the fighting is gone anyway (yay) we just crochet more and more with each other…we inspire each other and REALLY enjoy the process.

Here’s the Link to Stitch Stirrers! Join us!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Creativity, Crochet, stitch stirrers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

