Sara’s Boot Laces

So, I went to Portland for my dear friend Melissa’s wedding a weekend ago. Of course hubby and I HAD to stop at Powell’s Books before heading back home!

I picked up a copy of “Get your crochet on! Fly Tops & Funky Flavas” by Afya Ibomu for my 14 year old daughter, Sara.

She loved the “Phat Laces” pattern, for making your own shoe laces. Sara suggests when making laces for your combat boots to increase the base chain to 200 🙂

This is a great book with some very simple patterns. And I have to say I was relieved to find a book by a crocheters crocheter! In fact it is an independant publication that is not beholden to any yarn company, and so all Ms. Ibomu does is give you the ideal yarn size for the project as seen in the book. However, she also encourages experimentation and how to change guage with different yarn sizes!

Indeed a brilliant and fashionable book. My teenager loves it 🙂

I like the shoelace idea too, and had one of those “WHY! didn’t I think of that?” moments.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

