The Secrets of Yarn Project(c) Crochet Edition

So, how’s that book writing going?

 It’s going well. I have to reformat all of my tables, because foolishly I had thre quarters of them done, and realised that it would be better to have them formatted in landscape versus portrait. So I’m doing the tedious task of fixing those tables.

It was just as well I do that, since I’m a little whelmed by the yarn substitutions chapter. That really deserves it’s own book. Some day I may write that on it’s lonesome, at the moment however, I’m plugging away at this tome.

It’s interesting to me how many people really don’t know that knitting and crochet have different yarn requirements for projects. I made some fingerless mittens out of  Katia Magic, which is not my favorite yarn to work with but it somehow jumped into my basket at a yarn sale. I’m wondering how it knits up, in fact I may do a swatch. It’s not terribly well plied, very loose and whereas crochet ends up adding twist, it was a good thing it did. Each time I yarned over the yarn unplied it’s self.

If it does that for knitters I can imagine it’s a frustrating experience for them. Now, I managed it by some hook dancing. “Hook dancing?” Yes, hook dancing, it’s where I kind of giggle, slide, and do the conga or sometimes the tango with my hook, and fingers! LOL…It’s hard to describe the handmovements I employ when I crochet. I’ve just noticed it’s a whole two handed event with each finger having a synchronized part in the play.

Like I’ve written before, I believe crochet experience extends to the amount of different kinds of yarns you work with too. Some yarns just take practice. Fuzzy, slippery, bumpy, and thick and thin yarns require a bit of getting used to, even if you have mastered the bullion stitch.

You don’t have to spend tons of money to get this knowledge down. Search out different textured yarns on sale, in clearance bins, dollar stores, and in thrift shops and then play with those. Try a scarf, play with hook sizes, save the swatches, or practice pieces and then sew them together into a FF master piece 😉

That’s my tip for the day…now back to my fixing of tables, and writing that chapter on yarn substitutions…Everything else should be smooth sailing after that.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

