Irish Crochet


Irish Crochet Motif 1
Originally uploaded by CMHS yarn & designs (laurie wheeler).You know the term Irish Crochet gets bandied about, and often spoken in tones of hushed reverance. I’d never heard the term until I joined the CGOA.

This caused me to want to do some research recently. So, I’ve gone onto various websites and found the history. Which was all well and good, but I had trouble finding photos etc that weren’t taken from a distance. I wanted to see how the stuff was made!

This weekend the answer was revealed, and it was one that caused me to laugh. I went to Port Townsend, Washington with my family to visit the in-laws. Sunday, I got to go a WONDERFUL yarn store (I HIGHLY SUGGEST THIS STORE!!!!) called Diva Yarn and Trim. There I found the Harmony Guide to Crochet Vol 7. I have volume one, and have wanted to find the other books, but haven’t made a huge effort. Since it was right in front of me I had to get it! In this volume there is a great section of Irish Crochet.

So I take a look at the section the minute I get in the car. I gasped, and said, “Well this is no big deal this is how I learned to crochet lace, what’s the big deal?.”

Here I was thinking I was going to gain some grand new insights into lace making, and nope. It’s exactly how I learned to crochet lace, in fact I have TONS of pieces that my grandmother made that are exactly like the examples in the book! It was from those examples that I taught myself how to make really phenominal lace and doilies. Then it struck me…My grandmother (who died when my mother was a young child) was not German like my great grandmother, she was adopted…Guess what? She was IRISH. (Unlike most adopted children she actually had contact with her biological relatives rare I imagine back in the 1920s)

SO DUH, I learned how to make IRISH CROCHET 🙂 I just thought all lace was made like that! Hey, ignorance is bliss I guess.

The pictured motif is one I did on the drive home today, which is why it is somewhat uneven (and it’s not blocked). I changed the motif to suit the look I wanted.

The only stitch I have learned that wasn’t in my repetoire is the Clone Knot. It’s a lot like a bullion stitch, but instead of yarning over the hook repeatedly, you’re yarning over (wrapping) the yarn around an elongated stitch, and pulling the yarn through the yarn wrapped stitch.

That’s what the bumps are in the scanned image.
The Yarn is from Fiesta Yarns and is called Heaven (100% kid mohair). It’s a nice affordable yarn (240 yards for about $19 a skein, not bad really)… The colorway I bought is called Saphire.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, CGOA, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafted, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

