Fashion Crisis! (Or Rescuing Teenage Daughter)

It’s the holiday season. Parties, family get togethers, a time to enjoy each other’s company, eat wonderful traditional (and fattening) food, and well take the opportunity to get dressed up!

So, as per our holiday tradition my daughter and I set out today to find her some holiday duds. EGADS! What a disaster. Now I know I’m her mother, but really I’ve had loads of other people tell me how gorgeous this girl is! She’s cute as a button, with a figure to die for! Do you think we could find ONE suitable outfit within thirty miles of our home?

Nope.

I do not have the time to run to Seattle, Bellevue, or Lynwood to find her something else. And truth be told I fear that the fashion crisis wouldn’t necessarily be over if we did go that far a field.

To buyers of clothing in Western Washington, RENT A CLUE. We have rain, snow, ice, hail, fog, and generally cold days in the winter. We do not live in the sunny southwest, we do not live in the Southern Hemisphere. We live NORTH, you know where it gets COLD.

All we could find were sleeveless, spaghetti straps, and tissue paper thin tops, “dresses” and no decent pants. The jeans were ok, but not what she wanted (I think she had given up at that moment), and really she didn’t want to wear jeans for the family get together.

We left the stores sad, and disenchanted. Now get this, just last night I had been speaking to her about letting the real her out. See she’s really a princess kind of girl, but when we moved out to a rural area when she was seven, she dumped the princess in favor of “tomboy” because it got her teased less. I haven’t been able to bring her out of it through her preteens, and at long last she agreed that really she is a princess.

She is. If she were really a tomboy’s tomboy I’d be cool with that, I just happen to know that she doesn’t hate pink, and likes to wear sparkles, and looks fine all decked out. She’s elegant in a kind of Audrey Hepburn kind of way.

So imagine I finally get her to agree to start wearing what she really wants, and that she can be BOTH (cause Mom is a tomboy and totally gets why flannel is cool)…and what happens? The designers and buyers are on mushrooms or something. I mean not even a real sweater, or jacket, or long skirt OR decent leggings etc…

Watching her be downhearted is not something I do easily. So the lightbulb hit. “Honey, we’ll go over to Michael’s and I’ll grab some yarn, I’ll make you a full length jacket or something.”

“You don’t have to, Mom.”

“Sure I do.” Says I.

So we run over to Michaels, I grab ten skeins of Lion Brand Homespun (in a gorgeous brick red), and started designing as I dropped her off to get her hair done, and the boys off to Tae Kwan Do.

I started the project at 6:30pm and am about half way done. I am using two skeins at a time, on my wonderful R hook I bought from Jennifer at Stitch Diva at the Knit and Crochet show this past fall!

I’m ALSO writing down the pattern. I know how crazy am I?

Hey desperate moms can work quick. The best part of it all is, when I commented I didn’t like the seam in the front (just a few rows) she looked at the garment and shrugged, “So, I’ll scrumble and sew it on to that spot, easily fixed Mom.”

Team work…and Fashion Crisis averted.

(Plus her aunty had a closet full of nice clothes ready to hand down too!)

 I’d post  a photo but it appears my camera needs replacing…sigh…if it doesn’t rain it pours! Well, you know what they say, “when life hands you lemons, throw em back and demand cookies!”

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Crochet Liberation Front, Fashion, Funky Fashion, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, humor, Laurie Wheeler, Stanwood, stash, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Washington State, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

