Mother and Son crochet

I have to say that teaching my daughter to crochet was one of the most delightful things I’ve yet to do with her. Seeing her eyes light up, and being able to sit cozied up on the sofa together both with hooks and yarn in hand, making things and making memories, that was truly fullfilling!

However, I feel almost doubly proud that my son asked me to teach him. He’s 11, and he thinks crochet is very cool! Of course, he’s watched me make things all of his life! He’s learned to use a drop spindle, and how to use a wheel, but he’s not into spinning much. He’s really my Tae Kwon Do boy! But, the hook and yarn has always fascinated him, and this week he asked and I taught him!

Tonight, he decided he could move past the basic chain he learned (and perfected!) this week, and asked how to do the single crochet stitch. He’s making a headband to wear in his Tae Kwon Do class. He’s working at impressing two women here: Myself, and his Sensei Doris!

She’s an avid crocheter, and happens to be a huge fan of my yarns…in fact hmmmm I should be spinning some up for her Christmas present…that goes on my list to of to dos…

So, let’s see how many other little macho boys he ring leads in to crochet! Now that’s liberation!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Laurie Wheeler. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother and Son crochet

  1. cbpotts says:

    That’s just awesome! I hope his sensei is impressed!

Leave a Reply

