Free Pattern on Lulu~ Free Form Medallion


motif close up

Originally uploaded by CMHS yarn & designs (laurie wheeler).

We all do it, stay up way too late working on project, eyes bleary and possibly crossed and invariably something goes wrong. If you are like me, if you’ve just finished and woven in ends, you are not going to want to undo the whole thing to fix a minor glitch.

That is was gave birth to this medallion! I had edged the neckline of this concept piece with long loops in the feathery decorative yarn. Problem was, it wasn’t balanced, and try as I might to convinced myself it was ” on purpose”, I couldn’t stand how it looked.

As I searched my gray matter for a solution, this medallion popped into my head! What is actually, is a double petalled rose, finished with three hanging loops. It balanced out the neckline, and made a bigger impact on this concept piece I worked up for the Seattle Knitting Expo (2007).

If you fear decorative yarn, or want to start free forming, or embelling your crochet, this is a simple, and stress free project to try.

It will work with ANY decorative yarn. Note: The less baubles, or plainer the yarn, the more like a rose it will look.

You can download this for FREE at my shop on Lulu! I hope you enjoy!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, crochet pattern downloads, Embellishing, Fashion, Fire Dancing, Free Crochet Pattern, Free Form Crochet, Funky Fashion, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Indie Artist, Laurie Wheeler, Needle Arts, patterns, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free Pattern on Lulu~ Free Form Medallion

Leave a Reply

