EEK! I got meme’d…CGOA MEME

Hey folks…I’ve been meme’d! Vashti started it!

http://designingvashti.blogspot.com/2007/11/cgoa-gets-meme.html

Now I have to answer a question: Am I crocheting something I would not have crocheted had I not joined CGOA? Yup! I’m making a pullover for my son in Tunisian Crochet. Until I went to the conference in Oakland, I had never really been inspired to use this style of crochet. Now it’s like an obsession!

 And a quick word about how my experience of crochet changed since I became a member of CGOA.

Firstly, I have found a community that is not only equally obsessed with hooks and yarn as I am, but they are supportive and enable my goals and dreams as an artist, designer, and producer of specialty yarns.

Secondly, I have met some of the most wildly talented people on earth! Who are incredibly generous with their time, knowledge and skill!

And last of all, I went to the CGOA region conference in Oakland, and had a BLAST! I wouldn’t have gone otherwise, because (I know you guys are going to laugh at this, folks who met me) I am INCREDIBLY shy and if Bonnie Pierce hadn’t bugged me to go and “held my hand” I would not have talked myself into going! I AM SO GLAD I DID! I got to meet Vashti Braha, Karen Clemp, Doris Chan, Myra Wood, Margaret Hubert, Darla Fanton (the fiend responsible for my new Tunisian addiction!) and many many many many more wonderful people! I also got to go to Lacis, and I wouldn’t have if they hadn’t expounded on it’s wonders!

Is being a member of CGOA worth it? Oh yes, definately!

I’ve meme’d:

Karen Whooley 

Tracie (aka icrochet)

Myra Wood

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, CGOA, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EEK! I got meme’d…CGOA MEME

  1. Tracie says:

    I did the meme, but in all honesty, I haven’t experienced any benefits to joining the CGOA. I want to–my eyes are open to it–but I haven’t met anyone, haven’t changed my crocheting habits or ideas, haven’t done anything any differently than I was before I joined. Maybe that will change, but if it doesn’t, another year of it may not be in my future. I really wanted to start a chapter in my area, but there seems to be little to no interest in the idea.

  2. camanomade says:

    Give it some time Tracie 🙂 And let our board members know!

    It took Karen Whooley some time to get her guild up and going. You may want to contact her (I know she’s like really really busy designing at the moment, but she will get back to you in between breathes!) and ask how long, and how she finally got it going. I know some of it ended up being students of hers who took classes from her at a Michael’s store, and now she’s teaching at a rather nice LYS and I’m sure some of those students will join. Crochet Guilds are a rather NEW phenomena so they take some time and perservance.

Leave a Reply

