The Secrets of Yarn(c) Project Guide I/II ~a little more info

  I find that people are either a little mystified by the guide or absolutely switched on by the guide. People who have done handspinning at all may be the most familiar with this kind of chart about fiber and properties. Weavers, knitters and crocheters, (and naalbinders, and other needleworkers) may look at it with a modicum of wonder.

Once again I find myself out of town and out of the office, and so busy I have yet to write the rest of my book, or complete the workbook/planning guides that I have stuck in my head. I jot down notes as quickly as I can so that I don’t lose all the juicey information.

The project guide as it stands is already a treasure, and many people are finding out just how functional and easy to use it is! Those of you waiting for me to finish my book, rest assured that YES it will be coming soon, early 2008 is my best guess! With several more guides to follow in it’s informative wake, I am seeking out publishing options that allow things to be more cost effective for me, and therefore easier on the pocket book for you!

So, if you have a guide or are wanting to purchase one here is some information that will help:

Resiliency: In my terms, resiliency is how well a fiber will wear, wash, and wear again. Will it make it through soccer games, and picnics, or is it something that needs careful wearing and gentle washing?

Drape: The drape of a fiber is how it hangs. Most stretchy and bouncy fabrics do not really have a good drape.  Think of draping as in if you had a cloak, or a evening wrap would you want it curling up around your elbows? Or would you want it to hang and swing as you walked?

Stretch Memory:  This is so very important, no matter WHAT kind of hand work you are doing. Wool is the ultimate in fibers when it comes to stretch memory (yet, even that is a generalisation). When you make something and give it a shape, even after much wear, and washing it will snap back into it’s given shape. Not so with cotton, or mohair, or alpaca, without serious blending.

 I break this information down into simple terms in my project guide. It’s information you won’t have to memorize, or read a half a dozen books to find, all you have to do is keep the guide in your project bag, and before you start, or when you go to buy yarn, look up the information! It saves time and money, just a few simple decisions made in a few moments of looking at the guide and you will avoid some of the major reasons handworkers are dissatisfied with their projects!

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Crochet Book Review, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Indie Artist, Laurie Wheeler, Spinning, stash, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Secrets of Yarn(c) Project Guide I/II ~a little more info

  1. Deneen says:

    This is a wonderful guide-I keep it in my pattern binder in the side pocket. It’s really a terrific addition to a “reference” library.

Leave a Reply

