Here I am at the airport…so while we wait a plug for Bonnie Pierce

I’m in Seatac, waiting for my flight, I have about two hours till boarding but you know I understand that the Law of Murphy is very real indeed. Should I have come an hour later, and did as instructed, I would have faced longer lines, a mean security person, or something strange like that. Coming early? Well of course everything went smoothly. Besides, now I get to use my handidandy laptop, and a connection that moves faster than a speeding Banana Slug.

So while I wait, I will recount a tale of wonder and awe, Crochet related of course. I want you to understand something first, I very rarely, if ever, buy patterns. Let alone actually read them fully, and do them exactly as per the lines on the page. Really, I’m serious about this! However, I just purchased Bonnie Pierce’s 24 Squares on a Roll, book and OH MY!

I am so impressed! I do so love motifs! Really I adore squares, hexagons, dodecahedrons, and all manner of shapes that can be put together just like a quilted object. But wow, these take squares to a whole new level.

The book is out of print…BOOO HISSS..but Bonnie has a few copies left on her site Elegant Crochet and she’ll even autograph it!

If you have not encountered her work before, let me tell you this woman a) has one of the finest hands I have ever had the pleasure  of watching! b) She is exceptionally artful in her approach from use of color, to texture, to composition.

As you know I’m a pretty picky person! So let me just say, these are no empty compliments. I love her work, and as I have had the pleasure of meeting her and corresponding with her, I have to say she’s sweety too!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Bonnie Pierce, Camano Island, CGOA, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Crochet Book Review, Elegant Crochet, fiber art, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Laurie Wheeler, patterns, thoughts, Traditional Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

