Making hay…ahem…nope…Washing Wool!

You know the saying “You gotta make hay when the sunshines.” Well the same applies to washing fleeces. I have a romney, a suffolk, and a mohair fleece all in tubs washing. I have sun, I am using said sun.

I haven’t had enough sun to get to all the fleeces I possess, and I can do small batches of fiber in the house, but if you have ever smelled a fleece during the washing process, you will totally understand why I’m doing this now!

So in between washing fleece, I’m dying some up, and spinning the yarn order. I’ve got two more skeins to go.

Normally I’m finished washing spring fleeces, and just have to wash the fleece purchased at the fair. But of course we had a cold, wet spring so I’m playing catch up.

Yay?!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Camano Island, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Creativity, Crochet, fiber art, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Laurie Wheeler, Spinning, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, WA, Washington State, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

