My yarn in living color!

One of the greatest joys I have as a spinner is working with my yarn, my other (and sometimes greater!) pleasure is watching what others create with my yarn.

Karen Whooley of KRW Knitwear Studios www.krwknitwear.com  purchased a skein of my stained glass yarn at the 2007 Seattle Knitting Expo.  At the time I was a little sad that the trio of yarns I had spun up and then dyed as a color study had been broken up. But, after seeing the other two at a later date she purchased the whole set and made a gorgeous shawl.

Check it out on her blog Oodles of Yarn Noodles! It’s fabulous.

When you look at the close up of the yarn, note the third ply is looser than the first two plies. That is because of the thread used for the beading. There are all manner of beads in this yarn, square, round, seed, various colors.

I spun up a lovely white columbia as a single ply, used a poly/cotton thread to add the beads, and bound the whole lot with a commercial black worsted warping thread.  I love color theory and enjoyed playing with the skeins with my super special technique that rends beautifully hued, colorfast skeins.

Once again Karen has shown her wonderful talents, and I am proud that she chose my yarn with which to create such a gorgeous shawl!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, Camano Island, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Fashion, fiber art, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, knitting, Laurie Wheeler, Seattle, Spinning, Stanwood, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, WA, Washington State, Yarn, yarn review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My yarn in living color!

  1. Karen says:

    Thanks for the post! 🙂

    I am still in awe of how well that shawl turned out!

Leave a Reply

