Redesign…expandable tote, elastic yarn, and chenille

I’ve got an order to fill. Yarn to spin, and a pattern to re-write. The first pattern is good, but I’m redesigning last minute. Why?

It could be I’m a terrible perfectionist, but if you ever look at my finished garments you’ll know that’s not true. (That’s my mother, never a thread hanging…I weave in ends, and make sure it won’t fall apart, but pretty where it can’t be seen? Nah…not me.) Nope, I’m doing a redesign for functionality. I’m not happy with the top portion of the expandable tote. I think a smaller hook size, and a little different design in the yarn will stop the minute, but evident sagging in the wool covered chenille.

Luckily the person who has ordered the pattern is a free former, and if I know her like I think I do, I am so betting the tote bottom stays the same, but the rest will be her own style anyway 😉 Still, I have my pride. I will not sell a pattern that is doomed to sag with use.

So I’m off to spin…and when I’m done with that, I’ll spin up the rest of the yarn for Tote 2.o 🙂 LOL…

We’ll see how that works out. You’ll be sure to know.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Camano Island, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Crochet Guild, Etsy, Fashion, fiber art, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Laurie Wheeler, Spinning, Stanwood, stash, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, WA, Washington State, Yarn, yarn review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

