A little crochet ranting…

Ok…that’s abosolutely about enough! That’s right I’m not going to sit there and take it any more dang it! Here I am minding my own beeswax crocheting quietly in a doctor’s office waiting for my friend (who was having cataract surgery) and one of the nurses says to the other “Wow look at her go, she says that will be a purse in a few hours”

Other Nurse says, (sniff) “Well that because she’s crocheting”. (Please feel free to insert a nasty tone of voice.)

You know, I don’t care if people like what I do, or enjoy knitting, but what I really hate is the attitude of some knitters  (and before the comments flood in, OBVIOUSLY you are not all like that)…but come on hookeroonies stand with me here, how many times have you had that happen?

How many times has some knitter looked at your work, sniffed, and waved it away as if it were some inferior dog doo from planet X.

OK world hear me ROAR!!!!!!!
CROCHET IS IT’S OWN MEDIUM, IT HAS NOTHING IN COMMON WITH KNITTING OTHER THAN THE USE OF YARN.

You needle bearing bullies back off! Cause I have some really COOL knitting friends who don’t think like you… and you offend them too! Believe me!

I mean, I feel bad if you are a knitter and you are thinking “oh but I do not do or say such things.” It’s like my husband who doesn’t get that other men are sexist, and that maybe after enough sexist jokes a woman’s skin can get a little thin?!

Same thing. I will not be an apologist for crochet. We are phenominal, our designs are reaching new heights, why is that do you think? Because a lot of us have not only thought outside of the box, we kicked the box into the alleyway and mashed it into the recycle bin!

Crocheters please, Liberate the Hook. Be loud and proud! Crochet a sweater, even if it’s for your cat.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, Camano Island, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Crochet Guild, Crochet Scarf Pattern, Embellishing, Etsy, Fashion, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Funky Fashion, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Laurie Wheeler, stash, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Uncategorized, WA, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little crochet ranting…

  1. elinorloewen says:

    Thanks for this post, I’ll have to keep it bookmarked so I can link it when some loony throws up on my blog.

  2. Laurie says:

    You are most welcome 🙂 GRIN This um rant is what I believe fueled the creation of the Crochet Liberation Front…I couldn’t remember what ticked me off enough to start the CLF…but um this post is a clue!!

    Solidarity sistah!

Leave a Reply

