Yarn Review… Sirdar “Snuggly Bubbly”

sirdarbubbles.jpgThis yarn too, will prove that I am not a complete and utter fiber snob! I love this yarn! It’s soft, it’s got bounce, it’s about as hypo allergenic as you can get, it’s durable, washable, fun, and has a great amount of potential for both crochet and knit!

 “Snuggly Bubbly” is aptly named! It’s sooo soft, easy to handle, and is perfect for making baby hats, blankies, cardigans, and booties. I first came across this yarn last year when I was commissioned to crochet slippers for a bride’s wedding. Her dress was VERY white, and none of the natural fibers were “white enough”…so in desperation I went yarn shopping with a fabric swatch, and this was the ONLY yarn I could find in a hurry to match.

The yarn was easy to use, and fun to work with, I Iike to work with “bouncy” yarns when I crochet, because it’s easier on my hands/wrists. (It may work differently for you.)

So here’s the the important information you need to know about this yarn:

Brand: Sirdar Snuggly Bubbly

Weight: DK  (though for crochet I highly suggest treating it as a sport weight)

140 yds for a 50gr ball. Comes in a variety of colors (and yes that white is a fabulous bright white!)

Fiber Content: 100% Nylon.

Knitting Fever is the USA’s distributer click here for yarn color information!

This is where nylon can be fun, there’s enough texture to the yarn that it is not as slippery as it could be. It’s also slubbed (thus the bubbles), but unlike handspun slubs, these nubs/bumps are evenly spaced.

F hooks are suggested on the label, I’d go up as high as an H depending on what you want to do with the yarn. It’s got a lot of stretch worked up,  but if you have really tight tension then I’d use a larger hook, if you don’t then an F will work just snazzy for you!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Camano Island, CMHS Yarns & Designs, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Etsy, Fashion, fiber art, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Laurie Wheeler, Needle Arts, stash, The Secrets of Yarn (c) Project, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Uncategorized, WA, Washington State, Yarn, yarn review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

