Time Management…(snickering)

Ah, yes, time management. You know I used to teach this back in my old corporate suit days. I’m really good at managing time, the problem is there just isn’t enough of it!

I will definately have more fun things to see on my website in the next few weeks. However, right now I have spinning to do. I have several yarn orders to fill, and a fair to produce for!

Why worry about the fair? Ah… Because it is my once a year treat to myself. Three days of luxurious spinning, educating, chit chating, and bonding with my sister spinners.

We’re not formal, we’re not nit picky, we’re right out of a chick flick. You know like Steel Magnolias, or How to make an American Quilt, or Fried Green Tomatos. That’s our little group, we have lumps and bumps, opinions (oh lord we have those to spare!), some of us are old, some of us are young, some like me are in the middle. We mutter, grumble, fuss over how the other people do things, but at the end of the day we are sisters, mothers, friends.

I love my three days of real womanly contact. The spinning is just part of it, the rest of it is getting to sit still for hours at a time, rhythmically pumping at the wheel next to someone else. Sometimes chatting, sometimes in concentration, but the sounds of the wheels whirring, squeaking, thumping, and occasionally the bad sound of twang when a leader or drive band snaps.

We have gone through husbands dying, divorces, marriages, births, graduations, and when push comes to shove the afore mentioned muttering stops, and the gather comes in…and we know we have each other…

That’s why I am spinning for the fair…that too is one thing just for me…

Stanwood-Camano Fair is the FIRST weekend in August! Come out and see us!

Take Exit 212 off I-5, turn left at the light, go straight, turn left at the second stop light onto Pioneer Hwy, go straight until you see the signs for the fair, there is parking in a pasture (it was $5 last year) or you can park for free at the Stanwood Highschool and take the free shuttle bus!

Come out and see us! We’re in the log cabin, the coolest place on hot days! (Really we have shade!)

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, Camano Island, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Everett, Fashion, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Indie Artist, knitting, random, Seattle, Spinning, Stanwood, stash, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Uncategorized, WA, Washington State, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

