Spinning at the Norgaard Center was Fantastic!

Yesturday was such a great day! My son and I headed into Stanwood early (traffic can be kind of busy for the parade), and got all of the goodies displayed in record time.

He got to go help the Parade Marshalls inspect things, and then watch the parade and come back to me on his own! With out getting lost or into trouble, major accomplishment for an 11 year old! (Especially not getting into trouble…LOL) Actually he’s a brilliantly well behaved  young man, and always such a good helper.

So while he got all of that excitement, I got in a WHOLE extra hour to spin! YAY!

 I spun the last bat (fingers crossed, because if more of it shows up I’ll groan!) of mohair/angora bunny spun into a very fine single. I’ll ply it with a cotton, or beaded metalic thread, maybe silk but I think cotton’s the better option.

Tons of people showed up, lots of children, as always fascniated by the whole spinning wheel thing. All asking great questions.

Oh and a request, please please PLEASE don’t ask me to spin dog hair. At almost ever demonstation SOMEONE has to make the request. Yes, I can spin dog hair, I can spin dryer lint too! Does it mean I want to? No. Don’t ask me to do it. I’ve spun cat hair once too…do I want to do it again? Nope.

I’ll stick to camel, alpaca, yak,wool, mohair, and silk. Those are my standard fibers.

Back to what I did spin. I spun about 350 yards in four hours which wasn’t bad, since I was talking, and occasionally took a break. It will be a lovely yarn. AND OH! I found my camera. My daughter “accidently found it” in her room… Now I can shoot pictures again!

Life picks up, isn’t it grand!

So how was your fourth? Safe and Sane I hope!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Camano Island, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

