More Crochet Hints

Thanks to a reader, new ideas have sprung forth! I love how they skip through the right hemisphere of my brain, and then get translated into the left! It tickles. 🙂

Today’s hint about crochet incorporates a bit of The Secrets of Yarn information.

What yarn works best in a project? That’s actually a loaded question, it really does depend on the type of project you are doing.

Decorative free form that involves the ever present bullion stitch, or a relief stitch of some kind (even one of my personal favs the popcorn stitch) really are shown best using a plain yarn with a fairly tight ply.

What does this mean?

A plain  yarn is simple, no major color variances, made from some material that is not fuzzy, or has a lot of texture (though I think I may experiment with beaded yarn with this one). I would also say a finer weight will look better than a bulkier weight yarn. I really prefer making bullions on my clover G hook. It seems to do it for me. Bigger than that and they just don’t seem to have the polish. Of course that just could be my hand, and you may have a very different experience.

A tighter ply ensures that the decorative/reliefs will hold firm and not sag later. Which is why we make doilies from crochet cotton. It’s firm. Not that I would reallly want to wear much made out of it, a little too firm for my need for fuzzy.

Now when using decorative yarns, lots of fuzz, bulky chenilles, extreme texture, mohair is a good example, or the tagged yarns (tags being materials, ribbons, fiber that sticks out in the yarn) I use very simple stitches. I prefer using the old single crochet (sc), or half double crochet (hdc) stitches and really don’t deviate much from that…Some times I use the loop or fur stitch, but that’s effectively a corrupted sc, you’re just pulling the loop before you finish the stitch. Above are examples of working with textured yarn.

So I hope this helps…and now my vision becomes more clear so thank you dear readers! Please leave comments, and please let me know what questions you do have when it comes to yarn and crochet!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Camano Island, Cool Stuff, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Embellishing, Fashion, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Funky Fashion, Handcrafted, Handcrafts, handspun yarn, Indie Artist, Needle Arts, random, Seattle, Spinning, stash, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Uncategorized, Washington State, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Crochet Hints

  1. Pingback: Complete Guide To Crochet Tips–Crafter’s Journey

  2. Pingback: Complete Guide to Crochet Tips — Craft Salad

  3. Pingback: Complete Guide To Crochet Tips — Craft Stew

  4. Random T. says:

    This is very up-to-date info. I’ll share it on Delicious.

Leave a Reply

