Some helpful Crochet hints

I often muse when I go out to tend my herb garden, and today it struck me that I might want to give a few hints about crochet.

You see I’m so saddened that there are so many people who lack the confidence in their skills that they stick to either the same projects that are tried and true, or don’t think they deserve to work with better materials.

I know the feeling. Boy, have I been there! Once I tentatively stuck my toe into the wonderful world of yarn, and actually acquired some really fun, nice yarn, there was no turning back.

So, here is one simple trick for crocheters to remember when working with “different” or novelty yarns. Regardless of fiber type, hook size is all important. For a fuzzy yarn, or a yarn with tags/bumps/beads, go up a size from what is suggested (if there is a suggestion) on the label.

If you have really loose tension, use a smaller hook. If you have tight tension use a bigger hook.

Above all when doing a flat piece of crochet, such as the back of a sweater, or even a simple scarf, to keep your edges straight, always chain one at the end of the row and turn. That above all else is something that will save your projects.

Just a few helpful hints.

HAVE CONFIDENCE IN YOUR CREATIVITY! Really! You are better than you think you are!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Etsy, Fashion, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Indie Artist, Needle Arts, patterns, random, Spinning, stash, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Uncategorized, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

