This Week’s Yarn Review~Phildar Eponge

phildar-piment.jpgAs promised here is this weeks yarn review. I decided instead of taking photos of the yarn with which I am working, I will place links. My main reason for this is I have a terrible camera, and my best attempts to photograph these fun yarns did not do them justice!

Phildar Eponge (eponge is the french work for sponge) has a terry cloth feeling to it. It’s essentially on the fine side of dk-ish weight and is a boucle. It’s got quite the blend of materials acrylic, polyamid,cotton, and elastine, which gives it a “drapey-bounce”.

My LYS has had some trouble moving the yarn, more or less because folks have been wondering what to make with it, so I have been given the charge of making a sock pattern. I am one footy into the sock pattern, and it’s turning out great! (My daughter is attempting to swipe the socks before they go into the store as an example piece!)

Currently I am using a clover d hook (only because I can’t find my c hook, and I have water tight tension!) to make the socks , it’s a fun, textured yarn, so I have kept my stiches simple. I am only using a half double crochet, decorative stitches won’t show up well due to the texture.

I chose to make footies (or anklet socks) because this is a great “sporty” look, it will be durable in the wear, it has a lot of stretch memory, but again it could drape well if used for a sweater.

Other possible uses I’ve thought of for crochet: Headbands, wrist bands, tube tops, light summer sweater (it would take a while given it’s a fine yarn).

The website for the Phildar company (based out of Belgium) has quite a few great knitting patterns for this yarn, sorely lacking for crochet (but don’t most companies lack the foresight to have us hookers in mind? That’s why we’re so creative!)

Will I choose to use this yarn again? Oh yes absolutely. It’s washable, it’s durable, it is a versatile yarn and comes in 22 colors!

Yarn Details:

Phildar Eponge (colors I am using are Clementine, Piment, and Primptemps, and Bermudes)

22 Colors

50 gr

142 yds

Needles: 5-6

Hook c-f

Machine Washable (air dry)

Affordable in the $6-$8 per skein range.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Fashion, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafts, knitting, Needle Arts, patterns, random, stash, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Uncategorized, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Week’s Yarn Review~Phildar Eponge

  1. Janet Olmsted says:

    I bought 2 balls of Phildar Eponge about 2 years ago but couldn’t seem to knit with it. On an idle whim a few months ago I tried again and it was easy! I now have about 20 balls of various colors and am making a scarf for my grandson’s birthday. It’s so soft and vibrant it could be nice for baby things too. Now the problem is where to find it.

Leave a Reply

