The Secrets of Yarn ~ Some musings

In the next two weeks I’ll be teaching my first ever classes on The Secrets of Yarn.  I have the class outlined, and I’ve rehearsed to my cats a million times. (Since they are feline yarn addicts they found the subject matter fascinating…)

Yet, I’ve been thinking, how do I write my blog about a subject I am turning into a book, without giving it all away. I really love to share what I know, and it has been pointed out to me that being compensated for that is important; Thus my writing a book, and project guides, and teaching classes. I get it making money isn’t a bad thing. In fact with two growing kids it’s really important.

So, what can I write here, that won’t give it all away but will still be of use? I’ve been pondering, musing, thinking… Then it came to me, when it comes to commercial yarns, I am not even going to begin to get into all of them in a book. I plan on covering types of yarn in general, not just size but styles.

So, I will add a yarn review to this blog. Of course I’ll continue to post my own handy dandy creations. But, my lys, Granny’s House in Stanwood  WA, has been very generous and supportive of me, as I have launched myself. From wandering in to buy some odd crochet thread, or begging them to get in a certain brand…(Come on guys stock it and I’ll keep you in business!)

So, I’m going to pick a yarn a week from their store to work with and tell you what I think of it. How it handles, drapes, washes and wears, and how it crochet’s versus knits up.

I can knit enough to do a small swatch, and it is truly dedication to you all that makes me bind off those darned stitches. If you are a knitter, I praise you, but as far as I’m concerned everytime I pick up a pair of needles I realise why I use one hook.

So stay tuned folks, in the coming days I will be posting a yarn review.

Tell your friends, and please feel free to post comments, or questions, respond, complain, offer suggestions. Please, it all helps contribute to the process!

Thank you.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Embellishing, Etsy, Fashion, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafts, Handspinning, knitting, Needle Arts, random, Spinning, stash, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

