The Joy of Passing Down Our Crafts…

Daughter with Free Form beretEvery once in a while you have moments in life that are like snap shots in time. You know that you will never forget how you felt, and what every little detail around looked like, you know you will even remember the dust motes in the air… These are moments in time that mark us as individuals, that we carry with us forever forward.

I have a few memories of myself with my Great Grandmother, Lydia, who taught me to crochet and embroider. I remember a warm lazy summer afternoon, it was too hot to play outside, and we had just finished making and then drinking cool fresh lemonade. I was bored, but too hot to run outside, and she was very old and too hot to play outside. So, she got out a skein of yarn, a hook, and proceeded to teach me how to chain.

I remembered she smelled like noxima, and lilacs, and rose milk lotion, and her old arthritic hands, painfully held the hook and yarn, as she explained to me how to make the slip knot, and how to make a chain. My hands looked very small next to hers, I must have been maybe six or seven at the time.

I remember her taking my hand with hers, and she gently guided my hand to make the first chain, and then the next, and then she let go. She chuckled as she watched me wrestle with the yarn, and she advised me. It’s not the words though that I remember most, it was the feeling of connection. Even though I was young, I knew I needed to remember that day, the perfect lazy summer day, where my Great Grandma taught me to crochet to “Keep your hands outta trouble.”

Almost thirty years later, or more than thirty years later (like I said  I was young I just don’t know how young), I found myself on a warm spring evening, sitting with my daughter (who crochets very well at 13) and she asked, “Hey Mom, can you show me how to join these squares with the ribbon yarn?” (She is making a cool free form scarf)

I, of course, dropped everything to show her how, because these days our positive experiences don’t outway the teenage moodiness! So I take any opportunity to connect. As I sat showing her how to do the joining technique, I was thrown back to that summer day, and it felt like my Great Grandmother was right there in the room, smiling at the two of us, my daughter and myself.

Crochet is more than just a craft in this house, it is a shared experience. It is a legacy, that has been passed down from one generation to the next. 

That too is a Secret of Yarn, that as the fibers are spun, they become stronger , as we crochet, or knit, or embroider, we stregthen, and our bonds with our fellow crafters/artists, and family grow stronger too…

Yeah, I misted up. It felt too good to be forehead to forehead on the couch, looking at how the stitches were made, and knowing that some day my daughter would teach some other little girl, maybe my granddaughter, maybe someone elses…

That feels so wonderful! Share your craft, pass down the knowledge, share a moment, it will last forever.

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Felting, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafts, Handspinning, handspun yarn, Indie Artist, knitting, Needle Arts, random, stash, thoughts, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Uncategorized, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joy of Passing Down Our Crafts…

  1. Ariel says:

    Hi, I came to visit here:) Your daughter is so beautiful!!! She became a little darker, isn’t she? She reminds me of… Ooopsie! And, your son is exactly the copy of you. We’re all grown up by now. I really want to vitit you in the future. By the way, you know who I am, don’t you?

  2. camanomade says:

    Yes I know who you are! LOL…You are the one who taught me the Zosan song 🙂 LOL…
    Yes, she does remind me of him too, and she has all that was good about him. GRIN…

    I will take pics of her work soon, because she is quite the little designer…

Leave a Reply

