How to write about yarn…and not get tied in Knots…

annbasket2.jpgLike I said, this Secrets of Yarn project is one I feel strongly about. I think a great many people, no matter their medium, will be more satisified with their projects if they understand their materials better.

Just as a tailor or designer has to understand the variables involved with the fabrics they use, knitters, crocheters, weavers, rug makers, and crafters in general will find their projects work out more to their liking when they understand yarn better. So how does one approach this subject?

When I first started thinking about writing the book, I got “tied in knots” with the thought of classifying all the different kinds of yarn available today. That could and would lead to an encyclopedia of yarn, and that wasn’t really the direction Iwant to take this project in (even though that could develop into another project!).

So, I sat and thought about the qualities we as creators/designers/artists/ crafters, call us what you will, require in garments, accessories, rugs, socks, home decor, you name it! It the quality of the material that determines the use, though you can work in the other direction.

There are so many fabulous books, and periodicals for hand spinners, that other handworkers can access about the technical knitty gritty of yarn, but do they want to? Probably not, if you aren’t a hand spinner, why would you? And until you do spin, most of it won’t make sense because it’s written in “Spinnerese”.

So, what I am doing is putting the knowledge I have as a hand-spinner, crocheter (and baby knitter…no I don’t knit babies…I’m just not that great a knitter) and fiber artist, towards giving you, the handcrafter the knowledge about yarn that you will find useful.

So, if you would like to comment here, ask questions for me to puzzle out an answer, please do. I think this will create something truly of value to many people.

I always feel so sad when people don’t think their work is good enough, I hear it all the time. Most of the time it isn’t the person’s skill level, it’s the yarn they chose to work with or even sometimes a design flaw in a pattern.

So, ask away I really want to get this project moving forward. I invite you to help! So, I can show you how good you really are!

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, crafts, Creativity, Crochet, Fashion, fiber art, Free Form Crochet, Handcrafts, Indie Artist, knitting, Needle Arts, stash, Traditional Arts, traditional crafts, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to write about yarn…and not get tied in Knots…

  1. mrsfife says:

    I have a very silly question. What makes thread different from yarn? Is it the stiffness? If you have cotton thread and cotton yarn of a similar thickness, how do you differentiate?

  2. camanomade says:

    Hi! Actually, I think it’s a great question! Technically the “thread” used in crochet is a “laceweight” yarn. Thread is really really fine, like for crewel embroidery, embroidery floss, sewing thread.

    Also it would be on how it was plied, or if it were bonded in someway, finishing also plays a part.

    But effectively, yarn is thread and thread is yarn…LOL…we just use the words to differentiate. They are all spun in one way or another, and plied in one way or another.

    I mean I would go as far to say that rope is really really THICK yarn…

    Let’s see what everyone else has to say on the matter 🙂

Leave a Reply

