Welcome to the Secrets of Yarn

Fiber Guide Welcome to the Secrets of Yarn, this is a project on which I have been working for several years. As a life long handworker, I felt inadequate in my skills as a crocheter, and often was over critical of my skills.

I could make lace, doilies, and other thread projects, but my garments and accessories had little to be desired. That was until I learned how to spin wool into yarn.

Immediately the projects  in which I used handspun turned out to be spectacular! You think I would have figured it out at that point, but instead it took several years for a basic truth to come to light.

It matters not how technically able you are at your stitchery, when you use the right material for a project it will indoubtably finish better, than when you use the wrong materials.

Point of fact for almost thirty years I had used the wrong kind of yarn.

As a crocheter this made for some real light bulb moments…

So many of us use the wrong yarns for the right projects…why not take my knowledge of fibers, and apply it to handwork.

All yarn has a use, be it natural or synthetic; learning to choose the correct yarn for the project of your choice is where lays the difference between a clunky, chunky sweater and something everyone wants to pet in the grocery store.

 With this concept in mind I have written a guide called, “The Secrets of Yarn  Project Planning Key” . 

About thegoldenme

I love crochet and hand-spinning. I am visually impaired, and thus extremely tactile. I love texture and color, and creating things that feel good, and look good has made life richer and warmer.
This entry was posted in Articles, Crochet, Etsy, Fashion, Handcrafts, Handspinning, Indie Artist, Uncategorized, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

